HEAB navigation bar HEAB Main Page Contacting HEAB Financial Aid Application Info Links Questions Aid Administrators Site Map

Academic Excellence Scholars for 2001 Are Designated

April 26, 2001

Madison - Governor Scott McCallum announced today that the recipients of the 2001 Academic Excellence Scholarship (AES) have been named. 861 scholars from over 500 Wisconsin high schools were selected. The AES is awarded through local school districts to the senior or seniors with the highest grade point average in all subjects.

The AES is for $2,250 to be applied towards tuition at any participating institution in the UW System (both 2 and 4 year campuses), the Technical College system or in the independent college system. The scholarship is renewable and may be granted for up to four years. The Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB) administers the program.

In addition to the monetary reward, the scholars also receive a certificate of recognition signed by Governor Scott McCallum and HEAB Executive Secretary Jane Hojan-Clark. The certificates are sent out in time for each school's annual awards programs.

"These scholars are a big part of the future success of Wisconsin", said Executive Secretary Hojan-Clark. "All Wisconsin residents should take pride in this wonderful program."

Since the inception of the AES program, more than 8,800 high school students have been awarded this scholarship.


HEAB Main Page         Contacting HEAB         Financial Aid Programs         Financial Aid Application Information
Frequently Asked Questions         Links         Information for Financial Aid Administrators         Site Map

© Copyright 2001 by the Higher Educational Aids Board
HEAB E-Mail: HEABmail@wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin E-Government Privacy Notice