HEAB navigation bar HEAB Main Page Contacting HEAB Financial Aid Application Info Links Questions Aid Administrators Site Map

Academic Excellence Scholars for 2004 Are Designated

May 17, 2004

Madison - Connie Hutchison, Executive Secretary of the Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB), announced today that the recipients of the 2004 Academic Excellence Scholarship (AES) have been named. Eight hundred seventy nine scholars from 508 Wisconsin high schools have been selected. The scholarship is awarded to the senior or seniors in each high school with the highest grade point average in all subjects.

Students who earn this scholarship are awarded $2,250 to be applied toward tuition at any participating University of Wisconsin-System school, Wisconsin technical college, or Wisconsin private, non-profit college or university. The scholarship is renewable and may be granted for up to four years.

In addition to the monetary award, scholars also receive a certificate of recognition signed by Governor Jim Doyle. These certificates have been sent out in time for each school's annual awards program.

"The Academic Excellence Scholarship is a great program that rewards our top high school students and provides an additional incentive for them to continue their education in Wisconsin," Governor Doyle said. "I applaud our students for their great academic achievement. This is a win for them and for our state."

Since the inception of the AES program in 1990, more than 11,000 high school students have been awarded this scholarship.


HEAB Main Page         Contacting HEAB         Financial Aid Programs         Financial Aid Application Information
Frequently Asked Questions         Links         Information for Financial Aid Administrators         Site Map

© Copyright 2004 by the Higher Educational Aids Board.
HEAB E-Mail: HEABmail@wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin E-Government Privacy Notice