HEAB navigation bar HEAB Main Page Contacting HEAB Financial Aid Application Info Links Questions Aid Administrators Site Map

Academic Excellence Scholars for 2002 Are Designated

May 16, 2002

Madison - Executive Secretary Jane Hojan-Clark of the Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB) announced today that the recipients of the 2002 Academic Excellence Scholarship (AES) have been named. 874 scholars from over 500 Wisconsin high schools were selected. The AES is awarded through local school districts to the senior or seniors with the highest grade point average in all subjects.

The AES is for $2,250 to be applied towards tuition at any participating institution in the UW System (both 2 and 4 year campuses), the Technical College System or in the Independent College or University System. The scholarship is renewable and may be granted for up to four years.

In addition to the monetary reward, the scholars also receive a certificate of recognition signed by Governor Scott McCallum and Executive Secretary Hojan-Clark. The certificates which honor the scholar have been sent out in time for each school's annual awards programs.

"Academic Excellence scholars are going to play a major role in the future success of Wisconsin", said Governor McCallum. "Wisconsin residents should take pride in this wonderful program and its positive impact in strengthening our State."

Since the inception of the AES program, more than 9,400 high school students have been awarded this scholarship.


HEAB Main Page         Contacting HEAB         Financial Aid Programs         Financial Aid Application Information
Frequently Asked Questions         Links         Information for Financial Aid Administrators         Site Map

© Copyright 2002 by the Higher Educational Aids Board.
HEAB E-Mail: HEABmail@wisconsin.gov
State of Wisconsin E-Government Privacy Notice